Infanteriebunker Fischbalmen

Visit

General Information


Clothing: Regardless of season, the temperature in the bunker ranges between 8 - 14 degrees Celsius (46 - 57 degrees Fahrenheit). Even in summer, we recommend a jacket. For your comfort, wear walking shoes or hiking boots.

Guided tours: To reach the entrance of the bunker from the meeting place, you will need to make a 10-15 minute walk that begins on a street and continues on a gently inclined trail. Good shoes are recommended.

Guided tours meet in front of the Beatenbucht Restaurant, next to the Beatenberg-Niederhorn cable car station. The Tours starts always on time! The presentation and guided tour of the facility lasts approximately 1 – 1 ½ hours.

Unfortunately, the facility is not wheelchair accessible.

Refreshments and Dining: The Beatenbucht Restaurant, situated directly on the Lake of Thun with stunning views of the lake and mountains, serves light meals or snacks, as well as elegant dinners, or is ideal to celebrate festive occasions.

Bunker visit and hiking combined: Visiting the bunker can be easily combined with a beautiful hike. From Thun or Interlaken West you have the possibility to go by boat or bus to the Beatenbucht station. You will find also a large car park near the Beatenbucht cable car station. The trail (Pilgrim of St. James) leads right past the bunker to the village of Merligen, to the Beatus Caves, to Unterseen - Interlaken or up to Beatenberg.

Insurance and Liability: Accident insurance is the responsibility of the visitor. For loss, damage or contamination of valuables, clothes, shoes or other items, we can assume no liability.

Tours


Official dates 2018: From March to November at 2:10 pm and 3:40 pm on the following dates:
Saturday, 24th March – Saturday, 21st April – Saturday, 12th May – Saturday, 26th May – Saturday, 9th June – Saturday, 23th June – Saturday, 14th July – Saturday, 28th July – Saturday, 11th August – Saturday, 25th August – Saturday, 8th September – Saturday, 22th September – Saturday, 29th September – Saturday, 13th October – Saturday, 27th October – Saturday, 10th November.

Guided tours: Guided tours up to 10 people outside the official opening times are gladly accepted - Contact: info@bunker-fischbalmen.ch / phone +41 (0) 79 778 89 76 or Beatenberg Tourism phone +41 (0) 33 841 18 18.

Prices: Adults CHF 8.– / children under 14 years free
Groups up 10 people CHF 75.–, each additional person CHF 8.–
Flyer: Download (PDF)
Contact/enquiry: e-mail info@bunker-fischbalmen.ch or phone +41 (0)79 778 89 76

Getting there


By car from Thun or Interlaken. Use the car park at the cable car station Beatenberg. Arriving by train / bus: From SBB Thun or Interlaken by STI bus. Stop at Beatenbucht. LINK